Let me start off by saying that I am not 100% organic or green. I am not the Mom carrying substitute snacks or meals at parties because I only want my kids to eat organic. No, not at all. As a matter of fact, I am the Mom that has no problem treating my kids to a Happy Meal!

I do, however think there are certain things I can do/buy to limit some of the exposure to the harmful ingredients my little ones take in. For example, I tend to buy organic milk, vegetables and fruit since these are the foods they eat/drink in large quantities everyday. I try to buy more organic snacks for the baby, but I’ve lost the preschooler to a world of Keebler, gummies and other brand name junk food…and that is fine. Another thing I’ve become more aware of is the meat and seafood that I buy. Ever hear of GMO’s? If not, that’s probably because our fine government has not made it mandatory that producers of meat and seafood label whether or not they’ve used genetically modified organisms in delivering that meat to your table. I am not a scientist. I don’t think enough research has been done to determine whether or not this is harmful to me and my offspring. The research that has been done is not looking promising though. So I make it a point to only buy meats that are grain fed and are labeled or known for NOT using GMO’s. Seriously, genetically altered animals…gross! For more information on GMO’s and the movement to get GMO’s labeled go here: http://www.organicconsumers.org/monsanto/

UPDATED

Please read this regarding GM Corn !

20130603-095716.jpg

In addition to try and make more aware decisions in the grocery store, I’ve also changed up the types of products we use around the house. Now don’t get me wrong, sometimes you need a little Lysol to kill those nasty germs…but for everyday I’ve turned to Mrs. Meyers or The Honest Company. So far I’ve tried the diapers, wipes, everyday cleaner, laundry detergent and body wash/shampoo and I LOVE it all! The company was started by Jessica Alba…no harsh chemicals are used in any of their products. You can purchase products individually or sign up for a monthly subscription. Check it out! (I’m not going to go into an indepth review as there are plenty of websites out there that do that and it’s not what my blog is about. But feel free to message me if you want more info.) Use this link to sign up and receive a free trial package http://honest.com/accept_invitation/269413 !

Which brings me to my next website recommendation. I recently went on a search for sunscreen and bug repellent for the family. A friend referred me to SafeMama . This is a FANTASTIC site! She also has a FaceBook page. There are cheat sheets for different types of products such as sunscreens, bug repellents, etc. She has done all of the research for you on the safest products out there! Bookmark this page and like her FaceBook page! She is also very responsive to messages on FaceBook! I recommend this page to every Mom I know!

Lastly, a fun new website I came across is Citrus Lane . You sign up for a monthly subscription to receive a box of goodies! Who doesn’t love a box full of suprises every month! The boxes are tailored to your childs age (0-5 years) and contain the latest green toys, gadgets and snacks! To sign up and get $10 off of your first box, click here

I hope you find this informative and helpful in searching for the safest products for your family!

20130603-095748.jpg